Achievement Award

Award for rural students entering post-secondary education


The Federation Achievement Award was created to recognize deserving students of members across rural Alberta. 

Four $1,000 awards are handed out at the Federation Annual General Meeting.

For a copy of the application form, click here


  • Children of co-operative members of gas utilities within the Federation of Alberta Gas Co-ops, as well as, children or landowners who are serviced by gas member towns, villages, counties, or bands.

  • Memberships must have been in place at least one full year.

  • Children of active members of the Provincial Federation Board are NOT eligible.

Acceptable Institutions and Courses:

  • Admission to first year of a degree or diploma or apprenticeship program at any eligible accredited post secondary institute of learning in Alberta. The following institutions are eligible

    Athabasca University Bow Valley College
    Concordia University College of Alberta Grande Prairie Regional College
    Grant MacEwan University Keyano College
    Kings University College Lakeland College
    Lethbridge Community College Maskwachees Cultural College
    Medicine Hat College Mount Royal University
    NorQuest College Northern Alberta Institute of Technology
    Northern Lakes College Olds College
    Portage College Red Deer College
    Southern Alberta Institute of Technology University of Lethbridge

Academic Standards

  • Candidates must have completed the course work of the last one (1) year of schooling required for admission to the post secondary institution and must have obtained an academic standing of at least seventy five percent (75%) in core subjects.
  • Applicants not achieving at least this standing will NOT be eligible.